Innovators in Senior Living & Health Services

With decades of combined experience working at Moravian Manor Communities and overall industry experience, our leadership team’s expertise and innovative spirit have served as a robust catalyst for “anticipating and accommodating the changing lifestyles, expectations and needs of the people we serve.”

Leadership Teams

Executive Team

J. David Swartley, MBA, NHA | President & CEO


David joined Moravian Manor Communities (MMC) in 1991, serving in varying positions of Controller, VP of Financial Services, and Executive Vice President. In 2008, he was named President & CEO of MMC. In June of 2023 the Board of Trustees unanimously approved an affiliation betwen MMC and Morningstar Living, our sister community in Nazareth, PA.  David currently serves as President & CEO for both communities and is working with both teams to further their respective missions and goals.  David believes that the daily interaction with residents and staff is what makes his job most satisfying. David also is a current board member of Hospice & Community Care, Lititz recCenter, and CARE; past board member of Mennonite Children’s Choir of Lancaster and First Deaf Mennonite Church; and volunteers within the First Reformed Church in Lancaster City.

Cindy Meier, MBA | Executive Director

Cindy joined Moravian Manor Communities (MMC) in 1997 and has held the positions of Staff Accountant, Business Office Manager, Controller, and most recently, Vice President of Finance. As Executive Director, Cindy is responsible for overseeing all aspects of MMC’s operations, including strategic planning, financial management, and ensuring the delivery of high-quality care and services. During her tenure here, Cindy completed her MBA from Penn State. Within the community, Cindy served as Treasure for her church as well as stewardship coordinator for four-year terms each, and volunteers with Peter’s Porch food pantry.

Board of Trustees

Moravian Manor Communities is governed by an elected Board of Trustees who are experts in their respective fields. This group jointly oversees operations and proactively cultivates long-range strategic planning and development that fulfill the organization’s mission and vision to anticipate the future and the ever-changing needs of those in search of retirement and health care communities.
June 2022 – June 2023 Board of Trustees
Rick Jackson (Synod Electee), Chairperson
Dr. Bernadette Taylor (Board Electee), Vice-Chairperson
Geoff Eddowes (Board Electee), Secretary
J. Timothy Roland (Board Electee), Treasurer
Ben Atwater (Board Electee)
Deepa Balepur (Board Electee)
Steven Bomberger (Synod Electee)
Rev. Melissa Johnson (President, Eastern District Board)
Karen Mailen (Eastern District Board Appointee)
Rev. Mandy Mastros (Synod Electee)
Bob Newell (President, Residents’ Association)

Rick Rankin (Board Electee)
Stacie Reidenbaugh (Board Electee)

Management Team

Email Us

Virginia Boyle | Director of Social Services
Jackie Brendle |Director of Environmental Services
Kerry Dering | Activities Director
Leon S. Kraybill, MD | Medical Director
Lori Mateyak | Director of Nursing
Cindy Meier | Executive Director
Nicole Michael
| Director of Sales/Marketing

Rev. Timothy Naisby | Chaplain
Ed Rivera | Director of Maintenance 
Jennifer Shutt | Director of Community Services
J. David Swartley |President/CEO/NHA
Lydia Wise | Human Resources Manager
Bill Zimnoch | Dining Services Director


Residents' Association

Because Moravian Manor Communities values the opinions and suggestions of residents, residents are encouraged to participate in the Residents’ Association and help shape life within the community. The president of the Residents’ Association holds a seat on the board of trustees to ensure the voices of residents are present and heard throughout strategic planning and development discussions. The Moravian Manor Communities Residents’ Association is robust with a large population of residents regularly attending meetings and providing their unique insights and input.

The 2023 Resident Council Board Members, who will serve until September 1, 2025, are:  Lois Leister, PRESIDENT; Carol Simpson, VICE PRESIDENT; Liz Todd-Lambert, SECRETARY; and Mary Ann McSparran, TREASURER.